Meetings Mean Business Canada Board Elects 2020 Board of Directors and Executive Team

Meetings Mean Business Canada (MMBC) is pleased to announce the election results for leadership positions on its 2020 Board of Directors.

Under the leadership of the 2019 Chair, Heidi Welker, MMBC accomplished all of its goals for the year.  “We had some very aggressive goals for 2019 including the development of a sustainable financial model, board representation across Canada, a communications plan that told our story, curation of unified data that sited our economic and social community significance, implementing a Global Meetings Industry Day (GMID) Strategy that provided consistent and aligned messaging for the organizers of these events across Canada,  updating MMBC bylaws, and signing an agreement with the Tourism Industry Association of Canada (TIAC) with respect to sharing resources and incorporating a Meetings Mean Business focus within a variety of TIAC activities scheduled for 2020,” said Welker.

Under the leadership of the 2020 Executive Committee and Board of Directors, Welker stated, “MMBC is at a pivotal point and well positioned for the future.”

Clark Grue, 2020 Chair will build on the positive momentum of MMBC. “Expanding the reach and impact of MMBC will be the focus of 2020.  Building on the strong relationship with TIAC, MMBC anticipates elevating the awareness of the impact of the meetings industry in Canada. Leveraging leaders in economic development, innovation ecosystems and Chambers of Commerce will be critical as we maximize the opportunity that meetings and conventions bring to Canada.”



Clark Grue

President & CEO

Calgary TELUS Convention Centre


Vice Chair:

Laura Pallotta

Regional Vice President Sales and Distribution

Marriott Hotels of Canada



Grant Snider

President & CEO

Meeting Escrow Inc.


Past Chair:

Heidi Welker

Senior Vice President Business Development & Industry Partnerships

Freeman Audio Visual Canada


Board of Directors

Scott Beck

President & CEO

Tourism Toronto


Marie-Lou Coupal

Past President

PCMA Canada East Chapter


Karen Goossen

Vice President

Tourism Winnipeg


Lorenz Hassenstein

President & CEO

Metro Toronto Convention Centre


Miranda Ji

Vice President Sales

Victoria Conference Centre & Business Events Victoria


Robert Mercure

President & CEO

Montreal Convention Centre


Kathryn Mollenhauer

Manager Business Development, Meetings & Events

Air Canada


Christina Northcott

Vice President

MPI Toronto Chapter


Barry Smith

Executive Director

Convention Centres of Canada


Gabrielle Spanton


SITE Canada


Jennifer Spear

Director, Programming



Debbie van der Beek


Ignite & Adrenalin